About ECMA
Constitution

(Adopted by the ECMA Membership on 14 September 1988; with subsequent amendments by the ECMA General Meetings on 14 June 1989, 9 June 1992, 22 October 1992, 20 April 1993, 3 August 1993, 11 November 1993, 8 January 1996 and 15 September 2005.)

Chapter 1 - General Stipulation

  1. The name of the Association shall be ENVIRONMENTAL CONTRACTORS MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION in English and 環保工程商會in Chinese (hereinafter referred to as "the Association").
  2. The address of the Association shall be Room 702, 7/F, Lee Garden Two, 28 Yun Ping Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong
  3. The objectives of the Association shall be:-
    1. To promote the interests and general welfare of the industries of the Association.
    2. To enhance the professional image and competence of members of the Association.
    3. To advise the Government of any future amendments affecting the industries of the Association.
    4. To protect and safeguard the legitimate interests of the members of the Association in general.
    5. To establish the recognition at Government, industry and community levels that the Association is committed to conform to approved and accepted environmental standards and legislative requirements.
    6. To cooperate with the Government authorities for the good of the community and the industries of the Association.
    7. To encourage, establish and maintain high standards of competence, knowledge and performance.
    8. To encourage and establish ethical methods of competition.
    9. To promote a closer and more friendly relationship among those engaged in the industries of the Association.
    10. To promote and encourage the growth of technical knowledge and new development within the industries of the Association.
    11. To seek membership or affiliation with other national and international bodies.
    12. To do any and all things that are lawful and appropriate in the furtherance of these objectives.

Chapter 2 – Membership

  1. Membership
    There shall be two categories of membership open to those organisations or individuals who are of good conduct and are willing to abide by the Constitution of the Association.
    1. Active Member : Companies in Hong Kong providing contract cleaning services, waste management services, or environmental engineering or consultancy services, or supplying equipment or products related to such services.
    2. Associate Member: Any individual, organisation, or company in Hong Kong or elsewhere interested in the industries of the Association.
    In applying for membership, an applicant shall submit to the Association a completed application form together with the prescribed documents and fees and shall become a member when the application is approved by the Executive Committee. An Active Member shall be represented at meetings of the Association by its owner, a partner, a director or an employee as the Active Member may decide and such person shall exercise all rights of the Active Member.
  2. Rights of the Members
    1. Active Members:
      1. To nominate, propose, vote and recall.
      2. To enjoy the benefits as set forth in Article 3 'objectives' of this Constitution.
    2. Associate Members:
      To enjoy the benefits as set forth in Article 3 'objectives' of this Constitution.
  3. Obligations of the Members
    1. To abide by the Constitution of the Association and the resolutions passed by the General and Extraordinary General Meetings.
    2. To pay the prescribed fees to be determined by the Executive Committee.

Chapter 3 - Organisation And Functions And Powers

  1. The supreme authority of the Association shall be vested in the General Meeting, during the recess of which the Executive Committee shall be the executive organ.
  2. The Executive Committee shall be formed by nine (9) Executive Committee members who shall be the representatives of Active Members. The Executive Committee Members shall be elected by Active Members at an Annual General Meeting. The Executive Committee shall elect from among themselves a President, a Vice President, an Honorary Secretary, a Treasurer as officers of the Association. The Executive Committee shall appoint from among themselves or by coopting representatives of other Active Members, chairpersons or convenors of such sectoral committees and sub-committees as it considers appropriate from time to time. Coopted Executive Committee Members who are representatives of Active Members shall be entitled to vote on issues discussed by the Executive Committee. Coopted Executive Committee Members who are representatives of Associate Members shall not be entitled to vote on issues discussed by the Executive Committee.
  3. All the Executive Committee Members of the Association shall serve gratis. Their term of office shall be two years and they may be re-elected. The Executive Committee Members shall not become the salaried staff of  the association, nor shall they receive from it any remuneration.
  4. In the event the President vacates his office for any reason other than the completion of a term of office, the Vice-President shall assume the office of President for the remainder of the term of office. If the Vice-President is not  available or unable or unwilling to fill the vacated office of President, the Executive Committee shall elect among themselves a new President. In the event the office of Vice-President becomes vacant for any reason before the completion of the term of office, a new Vice-President shall be elected from among the Active Members of the Executive Committee or the office shall remain vacant until the next term. If any Executive Committee Member other than the President or Vice-President vacates his office for any reason, the Executive Committee may elect a successor from among themselves or coopt a successor from among qualified members to hold office for the un-expired term of  leave the office vacant as the Executive Committee shall see fit to decide.
  5. Functions and Powers of the General Meetings
    1. To pass amendments to the Constitution of the Association.
    2. To elect Executive Committee Members.
    3. To consider and adopt the progress and financial reports of the Association.
    4. To decide on any innovation which the Association may require and on the recall of derelict office bearers.
  6. Functions and Powers of the Executive Committee
    1. To implement the resolutions passed by the General and Extraordinary General Meeting.
    2. To prepare the budget.
    3. To attend to the daily affairs of the Association and to draw up By-Laws as necessary to organise and regulate these affairs.
    4. To decide on the employment, discharge and salaries of the employees.
    5. To make recommendations to the General Meeting.
  7. Functions and Powers of the Executive Committee Members
    1. The President shall represent the Association, direct the various officers of the Executive Committee in their work, take overall charge of the work of the Association and preside over all the meetings.
    2. The Vice-President shall assist the President in his work and shall act for him when he is absent, on leave or has vacated his office.
    3. The Secretary shall attend to all the secretarial work, keep the seals and documents under safe custody, compile the agenda and record the minutes of meetings.
    4. The Treasurer shall make purchases for the Association and shall attend to all the works which do not fall within the charters of the Executive Committee Members.
    5. The Treasurer shall take charge of financial matters of the Association. He shall compile the monthly statement of accounts for approval by the Executive Committee, copies of which are available to members on request. He shall also compile the annual statement of accounts which shall be submitted to the Auditor for audit 15 days before the General Meeting to which it shall be presented for adoption. Funds of the Association in excess of $200 shall be deposited with a bank designated by the Executive Committee. Valid cheques of the Association shall be signed jointly by any two of the President, the Vice-President, the Hon. Secretary or the Hon. Treasurer. Apart from the recurrent expenditure, monthly extraordinary expenses totalling less than $1,000 may beauthorised by any other Executive Committee Member but if the sum exceeds $1,000, approvalfrom the Executive Committee shall be obtained before the money may be used.
    6. The Treasurer shall audit all the accounts of the Association.

Chapter 4 – Meetings

  1. The Annual General Meeting shall be held once in every calendar year and it shall be convened by the President at a designated time (not being less than 11 months and more than 13 months after the holding of the last preceding Annual General Meeting) and place as determined by the Executive Committee. Members of the Association shall be notified of the meeting twenty-one (21 days) in advance in writing by post. The quorum of the Annual General Meeting shall consist of over 25% of the Active Members. In the absence of a quorum, the meeting shall be adjourned and be convened again within seven (7) days. For this adjourned meeting, members of the Association shall again be notified of the meeting in written form. At this adjourned meeting, any number of members present shall be a quorum.
  2. An Extraordinary General Meeting may be called by the Executive Committee or at the request of at least 25% of the Active Members who shall send such a request in written form bearing their signatures to the President. Following the decision of the Executive Committee or upon receipt of a request from members, the President shall cause the meeting to be held within fifteen (15) days but giving members at least seven (7) days notice. Discussions held and resolutions passed at the meeting shall be limited to those points listed in the notice convening the meeting. The quorum for the meeting and the provisions for postponing the meeting in the case of no quorum shall be the same as for the Annual General Meeting.
  3. The Executive Committee shall hold a meeting at least once every two months and more frequently whenever the President deems it necessary. For every meeting of the Executive Committee its members shall be notified of the meeting seven (7) days in advance in writing. The quorum of an Executive Committee Meeting shall consist of over half of all the Executive Committee Members.
  4. Motions at all meetings shall be carried by the approval of over half of those Active Members present. If a tie occurs in voting, the President of the meeting shall put in his casting vote for the decision.
  5. If both the President and Vice-President are absent from a meeting, those Executive Committee Members present shall elect among themselves a temporary President to preside over the meeting.

Chapter 5 – Election

    1. Election of the Executive Committee shall take place at the Annual General Meeting held in alternate years. The Honorary Secretary shall call for nominations from Active Members concurrent with dispatch of the notice convening the Annual General Meeting. The properly completed and signed nomination form shall be returned to the Secretary eight working days prior to the date of the Annual General Meeting. Candidates validly nominated will be selected by written ballot by the representatives of each Active Member. Voting papers will be distributed to all Active Members in advance of the Annual General meeting. Active Members may send their ballot papers in sealed envelopes duly completed and signed and chopped by the authorised representative of the Active Member to reach the Secretary by close of business two working days prior to the meeting. After that time only voting papers completed at the Annual General Meeting by the representatives of Active Members present at the meeting will be accepted. Voting papers completed at the meeting need not be chopped and signed. The sealed envelopes containing advanced ballot papers will be opened at the meeting. The candidates receiving the highest number of votes shall be deemed to be elected Executive Committee Members. In the event of a tie in votes, a new ballot shall be held immediately to determine which of those candidates with the same number of votes shall be elected.
    2. After the election of the new Executive Committee Members, a convenor, not being a member of the new committee and who shall be nominated by the outgoing committee, shall cause a meeting of the new committee to be held within 30 days of the election. The convenor shall chair the first meeting of the new Executive Committee at which the members shall elect one another to fill the various offices in the new committee. The convenor shall not have a vote at this meeting. The new Honorary Secretary shall send a list of the new office bearers to the Registrar of Societies immediately after his election.

Chapter 6 - Awards And Penalties

    1. The Executive Committee may present a letter of commendation or certificate of service to any representative of an Active or Associate Member who has given dedicated and meritorious service to the Association over a number of years.
    2. The Executive Committee may recommend to the General Meeting that a representative of an Active or Associate Member who has given particularly loyal and dedicated service to the Association over many years be offered Honorary Life Membership of the Association. The General Meeting will decide whether or not to offer such an honour. If granted, the Honorary Life Member would have the same status as an Associate Member but would not have to pay any annual subscription.
  1. Members who commit one or more of the following acts or omissions will be subject to disciplinary action:-
    1. Infringement of the Constitution, of the By Laws or of resolutions of the Association.|
    2. Being convicted of a criminal offence.
    3. Improperly using the name of the Association in such a manner that may bring the Association into disrepute.
    4. Non-payment of membership's fees for more than three months after they become due.
    5. Infringement of the Association Code of Practice.
    6. Unprofessional or unethical conduct in the course of business which may reflect adversely on the reputation of other Members or the Industry in general.
    7. Infringement of environmental laws, regulations, rules or sound environmental practice.
    Such acts or omissions will initially be reviewed by the Executive Committee which shall recommend to a General Meeting of the Association what disciplinary action is appropriate in any particular case. A member shall be expelled if a petition is raised by more than one third of the Active members to this effect.
  2. Should any Executive Committee Member commit any act or omit to act in such a manner that is intolerable to the remainder of the committee, he shall be ejected from the committee provided the remainder of the committee unanimously recommend such a course of action to the Active Members in writing and such course of action is approved by more than 75% of the Active Members attending the next General Meeting.
  3. Fees already paid or donations made by members who withdraw voluntarily or are expelled from the Association shall not be recoverable. If the representative of a Member is a member of the Executive Committee, he shall automatically be ejected from the Committee.

Chapter 7 - Use Of Funds

  1. Funds of the Association shall be applied solely to meet its recurrent expenditure and for the enterprises stipulated in Article 3 'objectives' of this Constitution and shall not be used for any other purpose.

Chapter 8 - Debts And Liabilities

  1. Any debts of the Association shall be borne by all the Executive Committee Members of the term in which the debts are incurred.

Chapter 9 – Appendix

  1. In case the Association should dissolve, the decision shall be made by the General Meeting or Extraordinary General Meeting and assented to by over half of all the Active Members of the Association. Any remaining assets of the Association upon its dissolution shall be donated to a local charitable organisation.
  2. Any amendment to this Constitution shall be passed by the General or Extraordinary General Meeting and approved by the Registrar of Societies before it comes into effect.

- END -

關於ECMA
憲章

(於1988年9月14日獲環保工程商會全體會員正式通過,其後經環保工程商會會員大 會於1989年6月14日、1992年6月9日、1992年 10月22日、1993年4月20日、1993年8月3日、1993年11月11日、1996年1月8日及2005年9月15日作出修訂)。

第一章    一般規定

  1. 本商會之英文名稱為ENVIRONMENTAL CONTRACTORS MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION,而中文名稱為環保工程商會(下稱「本商會」)。
  2. 本商會之地址為香港銅鑼灣恩平道28號利園二期樓702室。
  3. 本商會之宗旨為:
    1. 促進本商會同業之利益及整體福利。
    2. 提高本商會會員之專業形象及專業能力。
    3. 諮詢政府有關會影響本商會同業將來之修訂。
    4. 保障及維護本商會會員之整體合法利益。
    5. 令政府、業內及社會人士認識到本商會致力遵從已獲認可和接受之環保標準及法例規定。
    6. 與政府部門合作,謀求對社會及本商會同業利益。
    7. 鼓勵、確立及保持專業能力、知識及表現方面之高超水準。
    8. 鼓勵及制定合乎道德之競爭方法。
    9. 促進本商會同業間之友好關係。
    10. 促進及鼓勵本商會同業在技術知識上之增長及新發展。
    11. 謀求與其他國家團體及國際團體建立聯繫或成為該等團體之成員。
    12. 作出一切合法而又適當之事情以貫徹上述之宗旨。

 
第二章    會籍

  1. 會籍
    本商會為行為良好而又願意遵守本商會憲章之組織或個人提供兩種會籍。
    1. 基本會員:在香港提供承包清潔服務、廢物管理服務、環保工程或顧問服務、供應與此等服務有關之設備或產品之公司。
    2. 附屬會員:在香港或其他地方對本商會同業感興趣之人士、組織或公司。申請人於申請會籍時,須將一份填妥之申請表連同所訂明之文件及費用提交本商會,而當申請獲幹事會批准後,即成為會員。基本會員可由其東主、合夥人、董事或僱員其中一人在本商會之會議上充當其代表,而該人可行使基本會員之一切權利。
  2. 會員之權利
    1. 基本會員:
      1. 有權提名、提出建議、投票及罷免。
      2. 可享受本憲章第3條所述之利益。
    2. 附屬會員:
      可享受本憲章第3條所述之利益。
  3. 會員之義務
    1. 遵守本商會之憲章及會員大會與特別會員大會所通過之決議。
    2. 繳付幹事會所釐定之費用。

第三章    組織、功能與權力

  1. 本商會之最高權力乃歸屬會員大會,而在會員大會休會期間,幹事會為其行政機構。
  2. 幹事會由九(9)名幹事會成員組成,而該幹事必須為基本會員之代表。幹事會成員由基本會員在會員週年大會上選出,幹事會須從成員當中選出會長、副會長、義務秘書及義務司庫各一名。此外,幹事會亦須從成員當中或透過增選其他基本會員之代表委任人選,出任其不時認為適當之分科委員會或小組委員會之會 長或召集人。獲增選為幹事會成員之基本會員代表,有權就幹事會所討論之事項投票,而獲增選為幹事會成員之附屬會員代表,則無權就幹事會所討論之事項投票。
  3. 本商會之全體幹事會成員之任命,均屬義務性質。任期為兩年,任滿後可再獲推選。幹事會成員不得成為本商會受薪職員,亦不得從本商會獲得任何報酬。
  4. 倘若幹事會會長因任期屆滿以外之理由離職,便由副會長升任會長一職,直至會長原來之任期屆滿為止。如副會長不可以、不能夠或不願意填補會長一職之空缺, 則由幹事會在其成員當中選出一名新會長。倘若幹事會副會長一職在任期屆滿之前因任何原因而懸空,便從幹事會之基本會員當中選出一名新副會長,否則副主席一職即告懸空,直至下個任期為止。如會長或副會長以外之幹事因任何理由離職,幹事會可從其成員當中選出一名繼任人,亦可從合資格的成員當中 增選一名繼任人,任期為該名離任幹事尚未屆滿之任期,但幹事會亦可將該職位懸空。
  5. 會員大會之功能與權力
    1. 通過對本商會憲章所作之修訂。
    2. 選舉幹事會成員。
    3. 審議及採納本商會之進展及財務報告。
    4. 就本商會所需要進行之革新作出決定,以及就撤換疏忽職守之幹事一事作出決定。
  6. 幹事會之功能與權力
    1. 實行會員大會及特別會員大會所通過之決議。
    2. 編製預算。
    3. 處理本商會之日常事務以及擬定所需之附例,藉以對該等事務加以組織及作出規管。
    4. 就僱員之聘用、解僱及薪金作出決定。
    5. 向會員大會作出建議或推薦。
  7. 幹事會成員之職能與權力
    1. 會長負責代表本商會,指引各幹事會成員處理本商會之整體工作及主持所有會議。
    2. 副會長負責協助會長處理其工作,並且在會長缺席、放假或離職時代其行事。
    3. 義務秘書負責處理所有文書工作、保管印章和文件、編寫會議議程及作出會議記錄。
    4. 義務司庫負責為本商會購置物品以及處理幹事會成員職能範圍以外之工作。
    5. 義務司庫負責主管本商會之財政事務,除編製每月帳目表讓幹事審批之外(成員可索取此等帳目表之文本),亦須編製週年帳目表,以便在會員大會舉行之前十五日提交核數師審核,及提交予會員大會正式通過。超出200元之商會資金須存放於幹事會所指定之銀行。本商會所開出之支票,必須經幹事會會長、副會長、義務秘書及義務司庫四人之其中任何兩人聯合簽署方為有效。除經常性支出外,每月總額少於 1,000元之非經常性支出均可由其他幹事會成員批准;但如金額超過1,000元,則須獲得幹事會之批准後始可動用。
    6. 司庫負責審核本商會之所有帳目。

 
第四章    會議

  1. 週年會員大會每年度舉行一次,由幹事會會長在指定之時間(上屆週年會員大會舉行之後不少於11個月而又不超過13個月)和地點召開,而時間和地點則由幹事會決定。本商會之會員應於會前二十一(21)天接獲以郵遞方式發出之會議通告。週年會員大會之法定人數為基本會員人數之25%或以上。若與會人 數未及法定人數,會議必須延期並於七(7)天內再度召開。本商會之會員亦會接獲有關此延期會議之書面通知。在此延期會議上,與會之會員人數即為法 定人數。
  2. 特別會員大會可由幹事會召開,亦可應至少25%之基本會員要求而召開,惟該等會員須將一份聯署要求送交幹事會會長。在幹事會作出決定之後,或在接獲會員所提出書面要求時,幹事會會長即安排於十五(15)天內舉行會議,但須給予會員至少七(7)天通知。在會議上所作之討論以及所通過之決議內容只局 限於召開會議通告所列之事項。會議之法定人數及因與會人數不及法定人數而要將會議延期之規定,乃與週年會員大會之情況相同。
  3. 幹事會最少每兩個月舉行一次會議,但每當幹事會會長認為有需要時,可舉行更多會議。幹事會每次召開會議時,其成員須於前七(7)天獲發給會議通告。幹事會會議之法定人數為超過全體幹事會成員之半數。
  4. 在所有會議上提出之動議,必須獲超過半數與會之基本會員贊成始獲通過。 如在投票表決時出現贊成與反對票數相等之情況,會議主席可投決定票。
  5. 如幹事會會長及副會長皆缺席會議,與會之幹事會成員須於其中選出一名臨時主席主持會議。

第五章    選舉

    1. 幹事會之選舉乃每隔一年在週年會員大會上舉行。義務秘書於發出有關召開週年會員大會之通告時,須同時要求基本會員提名人選。填妥及經簽署之提名表格,須於週年會員大會舉行前八個工作日交回秘書處。獲有效提名之人選將由每名基本會員之代表以書面投票方式甄選。投票紙會於週年會員大會舉行前分發全體基本會員。基本會員可將其授權之代表所填妥、簽署及蓋章之投票紙放入密封之信封內,並於會議舉行前兩個工作日於營業時間內送交秘書處。之後,只有與會之基本會員代表在週年會員大會上填寫之投票紙方被接納。在會議上填寫之投票紙,毋須蓋章及簽署。載有預先填妥之投票紙之密封信封,將在會議上開啟獲得最高票數之人選即當選為幹事會成員。倘若票數相等,便須立即舉行第二輪投票表決。
    2. 當新一屆幹事會成員選出後,卸任之幹事會需提名一召集人,於三十(30)天內安排新幹事會舉行會議,並擔任第一次會議主席。召集人不得為新幹事會成員,亦在這次會議上無投票權。在這次會議上,成員須互選出新幹事會之各個職位。新任義務秘書於當選後,須立即將一份新幹事名單送交社團註冊官。

 
第六章     嘉獎與懲罰

    1. 幹事會可向多年來曾為本商會提供卓越服務之基本會員或附屬會員之代表,頒發嘉許狀或服務證書。
    2. 對於多年來曾為本商會提供特別忠誠服務及貢獻良多之基本會員或附屬會員,幹事會可向會員大會推薦其代表成為本商會之終生榮譽會員。至於是否給予這項會籍,則由會員大會決定。終生榮譽會員可享有與附屬會員相同之地位,但毋須繳付任何年費。
  1. 會員凡有下述情況者,將會受到紀律處分:-
    1. 違反本商會之憲章、規例或決議。
    2. 被裁定觸犯刑事罪行。
    3. 不適當地使用本商會之名稱,以致本商會之名譽受損。
    4. 會費逾期超過三個月仍未繳付。
    5. 違反本商會之工作守則。
    6. 在業務進行期間作出非專業或不道德之行為,以致其他會員或同業整體之聲譽受到不利之影響。
    7. 違反環保法例、規例、規則或有效之環保慣例。
    如會員有上述情況,幹事會首先會作出檢討,然後向本商會之會員大會建議應採取何種適當紀律行動。如超過三份之一基本會員要求將某名成員開除,該名成員即被開除。
  2. 倘若任何幹事會成員作出任何行動或未曾履行任何職責以致其他成員不能容忍,只要其他成員一致以書面方式向基本會員建議將該名成員逐出幹事會,而這項建議 獲75%以上出席下次會員大會之基本會員通過,該名成員即被逐出幹事會。
  3. 自動退出或被逐出本商會之會員已繳付之會費或給予之捐贈,一概不可討回。如該名會員之代表亦同時為幹事會之成員,該名代表即自動被逐出幹事會。

第七章    資金之運用

  1. 本商會之資金,只可用以應付本商會之經常支出,以及用於本憲章第3條所規定之事項,除此之外,不得作其他用途。

第八章    債項及債務

  1.  本商會在任何一屆幹事會成員之任期內所招致之債項,概由該屆幹事會全體成員承擔。

第九章    附錄

  1. 倘若本商會解散,這項決定須由會員大會或特別會員大會作出,並獲本商會半數以上基本會員贊同。本商會解散後所剩下之任何資產,概捐贈予本地之慈善機構。
  2. 本憲章所作任何修訂,必須獲會員大會或特別會員大會通過以及獲社團註冊官採納,始告生效。

- 完 -

(原文以英文版本為準)